Swans in Flight

My recent visit to London to hunt down another David Wynne sculpture reminded me that, last Summer, I did a similar thing in Newcastle Upon Tyne.  I wanted to see his 1968 sculpture ‘Swans in Flight’ at the Civic Centre.  One very quite Sunday morning, I walked to the area to see it and had the whole area to myself.  I imagine, being council offices, that they are very busy in the working week but on this Sunday the area was deserted.

The swans represent Norway, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Iceland as recognition of the links between this north-eastern city and Scandanavia.  Wynne’s inspiration came from a poem by Hans Hartvig Seedorff Pederson called ‘The Swans of the North’.

blogswansinflight

Leave a Reply

