Taylor Wessing Photographic Prize 2016

blogtaylorwessing

I went to London to see the Taylor Wessing Photographic Prize exhibition.  This is now something of an annual pilgrimage for me.  I always make an effort to get to the National Portrait Gallery to see the photographs on display.  Each year I select my personal favourite before looking to see which works were awarded prizes by the judges and, for the first time, my choice coincided with the winner of the first prize.   Obviously, my choice was based on the fact that I liked it.  The judges would have used many more criteria, including technical ones.

‘Thembinkosi Fanwell Ngwenya’ by Claudio Rasano took the honours.  Once again, a photograph I admired, like so many in the exhibition, came from a series.  In this case from a body of work with the title ‘Similar Uniforms: We Refuse to Compare’.  Once again, I would have liked to have seen the others.

Leave a Reply

