Oh When I was in Love With You

It has been some time since I have used a Housman poem on this blog but the lines from this one have hung around me for the last few days so it needs to be shared.

Oh, when I was in love with you,
Then I was clean and brave,
And miles around the wonder grew
How well did I behave.

And now the fancy passes by,
And nothing will remain,
And miles around they’ll say that I
Am quite myself again.

A E Housman

The poetry of A. E. Housman is in my hinterland.  What’s in yours?

ae-housman

Leave a Reply

