Because I Liked You

This poem by A E Housman is one of his romantic and melancholic poems made more poignant by the fact that the great love of his life was unrequited. Love is where it falls but the love he had for his friend from Oxford days caused more pain than pleasure.

Because I Liked You

Because I liked you better  
   Than suits a man to say,
It irked you, and I promised
   To throw the thought away.

To put the world between us
    We parted, stiff and dry;
‘Good-bye,’ said you, ‘forget me.’
   ‘I will, no fear’, said I.

If here, where clover whitens
    The dead man’s knoll, you pass,
And no tall flower to meet you
    Starts in the trefoiled grass,

Halt by the headstone naming
    The heart no longer stirred,
And say the lad that loved you
    Was one that kept his word.

A E Housman

BlogHouseman

One thought on “Because I Liked You

Leave a Reply

