The National Gallery is a Treasure House

I was in London so went to the National Gallery.  I stopped, as I always do, by Frederic, Lord Leighton’s ‘Cimabue’s Celebrated Madonna’.  This is the most amazing picture, so it is always worth stopping here.

However, on the agenda today were three paintings I particularly wanted to see again:  The first was ‘Music’ by Justus of Ghent.  This hangs next to another painting by the artist from the same series.  ‘Music’ is the one that captivates me the most, though.  There were seven paintings originally representing the Liberal Arts; at least two were destroyed in Berlin.  The painting dates from about the 1470s.

Picture 001

Next on my list was ‘The Story of Griselda, Part 2: Exile’ dating back to about 1494.  It is also part of a series, this time illustrating the story from Boccaccio’s ‘Decameron’.  I have to admit that I don’t know the story but I do love the painting and staring at it brings out its own stories.

Bloggriselda

The final painting for this visit was ‘Portrait if a Gentleman’ by Giovanni Battista Moroni.  This dates back to 1555-56, so is relatively modern!BlogMoroniGentleman

As usual, I rushed past so many more famous paintings to find the three on my list.

Leave a Reply

